Church Partners

We believe the local church is the best avenue for grandparenting ministry to take place. Our desire is to partner with churches whose leaders encourage, envision, and equip grandparents to be intentional disciplers of their grandchildren. The word, “Coalition” in our name represents our partnership with churches having a common commitment to grandparenting. Together, we see the potential for discipleship in the grandparent role, and are doing something about it.

We encourage you to do two things: (1) Start a grandparenting ministry in your church. The “Launch” section below guides you in doing that. (2) Join the Legacy Coalition. You may choose to sign up for free, or contribute to our ministry through paying the registration fee. The fee is designed to help us with our ministry expenses, and to help you through discounts and free resources.

Launch

STARTING A LEGACY GRANDPARENTING MINISTRY IN YOUR CHURCH

Here are six steps to successfully launching an effective grandparenting ministry in your church. Let us know how we can help you each step along the way. And join or coalition of church to get valuable resources and share with others to strengthen us all.

STEP 1: CORE GROUP.

A team of key leaders in the congregation is established that will be committed to launching a grandparenting ministry in the church.

STEP 2: PASTOR OWNER.

A pastor agrees to the implementation of a grandparenting ministry, and is willing to provide guidance and support to the core team.

When these two are in place, we ask churches to register with us, but with the registration, we expect them to commit to four more steps. These steps can be resourced through materials Legacy Coalition’s resource providers make available.

STEP 3: VISION EVENT.

The church will schedule and hold a seminar, class, small group, or whatever fits the culture of the local church—whose purpose is to cast vision for spiritually intentional grandparenting.

STEP 4: HABIT CHANGE.

A regular focus on grandparenting is infused into the life of the church (habit change): maybe through a prayer time in the adult classes, maybe through a newsletter, or some other practical method.

STEP 5: EQUIPPING OPPORTUNITIES.

On a repeating basis – from once a quarter to once a year, fellowship and learning opportunities will be created that will practically equip grandparents and remind them of the vision.

STEP 6: A GRAND ACTIVITY.

The church will hold a special event for grandparents and grandchildren—maybe a fun day of activities, maybe a weekend camp.

Partner with Us

Thank you for considering partnership with the Legacy Coalition in the mission of focusing on vital grandparent-grandchild relationships. Our dream is to know that our legacy of faith in Jesus Christ will outlive us in our grandchildren and the generations that follow. Your ministry in your church are the hands and feet of that engagement. We offer several levels for you to join our coalition of churches.

Our Church Partners

We are grateful for the partnership of these churches. When you partner with us we want everyone to know. Will you join us?

Platinum

Name City State Contact Email
Calvary Community Churcgh Westlake Village CA Scott Davis scott.davis@calvarycc.org
First Evangelical Free Church Fullerton CA John Coulombe john.coulombe@evfreefullerton.com
West Houston Chinese Church Houston TX Eugene Leong eyleong@yahoo.com
Whittier Area Community Church Whittier CA Nina Dohoda nina@wacc.net

Gold

Name City State Contact Email
Riverview Church Bonsall CA Steven Zenz stevendzenz@gmail.com

Silver

Name City State Contact Email
Bethany Baptist Church Edwards IL Lyall Sutton lyall@bethanycentral.org
Grace Church of Orange Orange CA Michael Sciarra

Bronze

Name City State Contact Email
Indian Springs Baptist Church Bryant AR Gail Baxley gail_baxley@yahoo.com
Open Door Fellowship Church Phoenix AZ Sam Hill sam.hill@odfchurch.org
Encounter/Bible Fellowship Church Ventura CA Jack Monroe jmonroe@encounterlife.org
Frady Memorial UMC Odon IN Ken Fuller fullerkj@centurytel.net
The Church at Mt. Gilead Mooresville IN Mike Crosley mikecrosley1@gmail.com
Calvary Chapel Mercer County Lawrenceville NJ Ed Miller ed@biblicalparenting.org
Lake Free Church Lindstrom MN Bev Phillips bevphillips@lakesfree.org
North Shore Bible Church Manson WA Ray Dobbs ray.dobbs@nwi.net
Sierra Community Church South Lake Tahoe CA John Aldax john@scchurch.org
Woodland Hills Family Church Branson MO Denise Bevins denise@woodhills.org
First Baptist Wentzville Wentzville MO Chuck Mason chuckandbarbmason@gmail.com
Hill Country Bible Church Austin TX Bob King baking@hcbc.com
Crosspoint Community Church Modesto CA Dwight Hunnicutt dwighthunnicutt@gmail.com
Southwest Hills Baptist Beaverton OH Rick Elzinga rick@southwesthills.org
Gwinnett Community Church Lawrenceville GA Carol Beaver carol55350@gmail.com
Brentview Baptist Church Calgary, Alberta David Schiedel david.schiedel@brentwoodbaptist.com
Prince of Peace Church Carrollton TX Kenneth Holdorf ken.holdorf@princeofpeace.org
Prestonwood Baptist Church Plano TX Phil Mitchell pmitchell@prestonwood.org
Snohomish Community Church Snohomish WA Bruce & Sharon Bailey bruceandsharonb@aol.com
Woodland Park Community Church Woodland Park CO Bill Fredenburg myrt.bill@sbcglobal.net
Grace Church – St. Louis Maryland Heights MO Stephen & Shelley Stipes shelleystipes@gmail.com
Grace Church Desert Hot Springs Desert Hot Springs CA Gary Johnson gej832@gmail.com
Church of the Apostles Atlanta GA Stan Carder scarder@apostles.org
First Independent Methodist Church Madison MS Andy Oldham christiangrandfather@gmail.com
St. Johns Lutheran Stryker OH Jennifer Grime grimejen@gmail.com
CrossPoint Church Chino CA Ted Mejan tmejan@aol.com
Faith Covenant Burnsville MN Charlene Rotvold crotvold@faithcovenant.org
New Hope Church New Hope MN Joanne Lundberg jlundberg@newhopechurch.org
Grace Church of Long Beach Long Beach CA Jerry Giles jandpgiles@juno.com
Faith Community Church Palmer IA Jane Larsen jane@twinlakesbiblecamp.com
Twin Lakes Bible Camp Manson IA Scott Larsen scott@twinlakescc.com
Southeast Christian Church Louisville KY Murphy Belding mbelding@secc.org
Villa Baptist Church Indianapolis IN Marvis Hale villa@villabaptist.com
Grand Rapids Evangelical Free Church Grand Rapids MN Gary Bordner gdbordner@paulbunyan.net